Blog Archives

Three St.X Runners set to compete in Friday’s Dream Mile

Tomorrow night at 8:30, apart from the Oaks and Derby, another premier racing event will be held in the state of Kentucky. No it will not take place at Churchill Downs, but our very own St. Xavier High School, and no there will not be horses. Rather, there will be three of our student-athletes from the Tiger Track and Field team who will compete in the Dream Mile.

The Dream Mile is an annual event held at St.X that pits the Top 16 Girls and Boys one milers in the state of Kentucky against one another, making it the best race in the state and one of the best in the nation.

The Tigers have had a lot of success in the event, with Matthew Thomas (Class of ’16) and William Mulloy (Class of ’15) both winning the event.

This year, the eight annual Dream Mile features three of St.X’s own one milers, the most by one school in the field. Here’s a look at the full lineup and seed times for the boys:

  1. Yared Nuguse (Manual, 4:14.33)
  2. Trevor Warren (Trinity, 4:22.46)
  3. Grady Shiflet (St. Xavier, 4:23.10)
  4. Alex Mortimer (Tates Creek, 4:23.12)
  5. Keeton Thornsberry (Holy Cross, 4:24.31)
  6. 6. Dylan Allen (Male, 4:25.38)
  7. Logan Greco (Meade County, 4:25.82)
  8. Austin Matthews (Paul Dunbar, 4:25.93)
  9. Alex McCarty (North Oldham, 4:26.35)
  10. Cooper Marchal (St. Xavier, 4:28.41)
  11. Josiah Harp (Central Hardin, 4:28.58)
  12. Spencer Carman (Lexington Catholic, 4:29.15)
  13. Jacob Burnham (Trinity, 4:29.30)
  14. Ryan Guenthner (St. Xavier, 4:29.46)
  15. Luke Spurrier (South Warren, 4:30.68)
  16. Garrett Hadaway (Oldham County, 4:30.74).

Good luck to all these guys and Go Tigers!

William Mulloy wins Dream Mile; Metzger, Striegel, Mudd race sub 4:35

Max Mudd, William Mulloy, Ben Metzger, and Chris Streigel | Photo by Jana Bollinger

Max Mudd, William Mulloy, Ben Metzger, and Chris Striegel | Photo by Jana Bollinger

4 of the Tiger Distance Runners competed at Friday’s Dream Mile. The Dream Mile is the most prestigious mile race throughout Kentucky, and the top milers come to Brother Thomas More Stadium on the First Friday in May. In this year’s edition of the Dream Mile, Tiger Track runner William Mulloy took home first place with a time of 4:12.40. Ben Metzger placed 10th (4:27.58), Chris Striegel placed 14th (4:28.98), and Max Mudd placed 16th (4:35.11).

The Tigers will race again on Tuesday, May 6th at the Louisville Meet of Champions at Fern Creek High School. Regionals at Male will be on May 14th, and State will be on May 24th at the University of Kentucky.